Young Talent in Concert

Saturday, March 10th

Event Summary

Rutland Sinfonia
Paul Hilliam - Conductor
Sam Thomas - Trumpet
Henry Newton - Trombone
Thomas Penny - Trumpet
Morgan Overton - Piano

Brown - The Irish Brigade (Premiere performance)
Neruda - Trumpet Concerto
David - Trombone Concerto
Larsson - Trumpet Concerto
Copland - Fanfare for the Common Man
Gershwin - Rhapsody in Blue
Marquez - Conga del Fuego

Our Young Soloist’s Concert includes three brass concertos and a celebration of American music; Gershwin’s ‘Rhapsody in Blue’, ‘Fanfare for Common Man’ & music by Marquez in his brilliant arrangement of the Conga! Starting this concert is the premiere performance of ‘The Irish Brigade’ by local composer George Brown.

Honorary President H.M. Lord-Lieutenant of Rutland
Dr. Laurence Howard O.B.E., J.P.
Musical Patron Eduardo Vassallo (Principal Cello of City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra)

Registered Charity No 1140582
Follow us of Facebook & Twitter

Tickets available from Oakham Wines, Oakham &

Price: £13, Concs £11 Under 18s £3. In adv £11, Concs £9

More Information (Rutland Radio is not responsible for external websites)


Oakham School Chapel
Chapel Close, Market Place
LE15 6DT

More details for this venue


The event runs from 7:30pm to 9:00pm on the following dates.
Select a date to add this event to your calendar app.